Add an Event Online Events! Cancelled Events

Note on Cancellations and Online Events

We are maintaining a list of cancellations, as well as a wide range of online events! We welcome new events and cancellations; please follow the instructions on the Submit an Event page.

If you need to cancel an event that is already listed in the CDSS calendar, please email Anne Campbell at webmaster@cdss.org with the event name, date, and location.

 

Events Calendar

Contra Caller Class: Utilizing Variety
Wednesday, April 1, 2020,  7:00 PM -  8:00 PM
Contact dugan@duganmurphy.com

ENHANCE YOUR CONTRA DANCE CALLER SKILLS - FROM HOME!

Two dates to choose from: Saturday, March 28, 2020, 1:00-2:00PM OR Wednesday, April 1, 2020, 7:00-8:00PM

Computer or mobile device with internet connection required

$20 advance registration required

Register here online

See other online caller workshops

This 60-minute class is designed and taught by Dugan Murphy for contra dance callers with some or lots of experience. Whether you’ve been on stage just a few times or tons of times, this class is relevant!

GIVE THEM VARIETY!

In this class, participants will discuss and practice recognizing the variables of variety in contra dance choreography. Participants will also explore how music can impact the mood of the dancers. Participants will leave better equipped to take dancers on an experiential journey through choreographic and musical variety.

CHECK OUT THE OTHER CLASSES TOO!

Dugan also offers 60-minute classes on these other topics relevant to contra dance callers with little or lots of experience:

  • How to spot bad dance choreography and choose only the good dances that dancers will enjoy and be successful in dancing
  • How to choose dances with just the right level of complexity for a given crowd at a given time

REGISTER NOW, 'CAUSE IT MAY FILL UP FAST. 

After you register and pay, Dugan will send you an email with a videoconference link. To get the most out of your opportunity to participate in the activities, use a device that has a microphone and camera so everyone can see your face and hear your voice. Participants can also call in on a telephone but will not be able to participate fully in the visual activities.

In order to provide a quality experience, Dugan caps the class size at 10 participants per class.

Register here online

See other online caller workshops

Time Zone Information

Wednesday, April 1, 2020, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Wednesday, April 1, 2020, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Wednesday, April 1, 2020, 6:00 PM Central time
Wednesday, April 1, 2020, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Thursday, April 2, 2020, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

     
Go To Top