Events Calendar

Jo Freya - Winter Songs and Carols Workshop: Part 1
Monday, Nov. 1, 2021,  3:00 PM Eastern -  4:00 PM Eastern

Four-week course beginning on Monday 1st November 2021

Minimum donation £40

There are many wonderful songs around over the winter season, and I have had the pleasure of singing them in theatres, churches and cathedrals for the last 20 years.

These are not your standard carols, but rather songs of the people. They are either folk songs, collected in the usual way and then sung or added to an archive, or they are carols that have been set to various tunes with stunning four-part harmony arrangements. This is what we will be looking at in this four-week course.

Last year, we looked at carols including the majestic ´Diadem´ and the tender ´Dunstan Lullaby´. This year, we will be doing a similar range of contrasting songs, all in four-part harmony, from the tradition or based on it. All you need to bring to the party is your voice!

Learning Online

Before learning each song, you will receive a PDF of the notation. However, you don´t need to read music to take part. You will also receive MP3s of each of the parts, and during the sessions themselves I will guide you through learning each song.

This course will be taught online, so you can join in from wherever you are in the world. The nature of these online workshops is that you can learn all the parts and, if you like, sing them all!

During the course, you will have the chance to submit MP3 recordings of yourself singing whichever parts you choose. My job, after teaching you the parts, is then to gather these recordings together and then put them into a mix.

How These Online Courses Work

My online courses allow you to work together to create an ensemble recording with your fellow participants. You could be in an ensemble with people from the UK, mainland Europe, the USA and more - not something we can manage physically very often these days!

For vocal courses you will have the chance to choose the part that suits you best (or perhaps choose more than one!). After the first session, you will have the opportunity to create an MP3 recording of your chosen part and submit it to me. I will then create a recording with all of you in it, and you will get an MP3 copy of any recording we make.

In week 2, we will learn a new song, but also go back and play through the first one, this time hearing the whole group recorded in the mix. This will allow us to hear what we sound like together, even when we´re based many miles apart!

Here´s an example from a singing course last year.

Course Dates

Sessions will take place once a week for four weeks. Dates are as follows:

Monday 1st November
Monday 8th November
Monday 15th November
Monday 22nd November

All sessions will take place from 7–8pm BST.

How to Book

For more details, and to book the course, email: courses@jofreya.com

Time Zone Information

Monday, November 1, 2021, 12:00 PM Pacific time
Monday, November 1, 2021, 1:00 PM Mountain time
Monday, November 1, 2021, 2:00 PM Central time
Monday, November 1, 2021, 3:00 PM Eastern time
Monday, November 1, 2021, 7:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top