Events Calendar

Workshop on Folksongs of Fall, Death and Mystery with Saro Lynch-Thomason
Friday, Oct. 29, 2021,  6:30 PM Eastern

In many traditions, late October marks the time of the last harvest, a period of abundance that mingles with an awareness of death and a sense of closeness to the unseen world. In this program, award-winning ballad singer Saro Lynch-Thomason will share songs and folklore of ghosts, death, magic, and mystery. Drawing from Appalachian and the North Atlantic Island traditions of Scotland, Ireland and England, Saro will sing songs and share traditional wisdom about the return of the dead, enchanted animals, and magic-wielding women.

This event is in association with the Folk Music Society of New York. Tickets are $10 for members, $12 for non-members.

Saro Lynch-Thomason is an award-winning ballad singer, song leader, folklorist, and documentarian from Asheville, North Carolina. Saro has been studying and teaching traditional song and balladry from Ireland, the British Isles and Appalachia for over a decade. Saro believes that old songs help modern learners access history, folklore, and (most importantly) compassion for the experiences of others, and she uses in-person teaching, film documentary, podcasts and more to convey these lessons. Saro’s song “There Are More Waters Rising” has gained international attention, becoming an anthem in the movement to end global warming and garnering praise in the Huffington Post. She holds an M.A. in Appalachian Studies and a Certificate in Documentary Studies.

Time Zone Information

Friday, October 29, 2021, 3:30 PM Pacific time
Friday, October 29, 2021, 4:30 PM Mountain time
Friday, October 29, 2021, 5:30 PM Central time
Friday, October 29, 2021, 6:30 PM Eastern time
Friday, October 29, 2021, 11:30 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top