View by Month

Susan Kevra: A Crash Course on the History of American Social Dance
Thursday, Jun. 10, 2021,  8:00 PM Eastern
Contact info@thursdaycontra.com

Mt. Airy Contra Dance Speaker Series

Every few months, come to hear a noteworthy speaker present and discuss the history and social context for contra dancing and related forms of dance and music.

Please join us for the fourth installment in our online speaker series! Susan Kevra will present:
A Crash Course on the History of American Social Dance

Most of you know Susan as a dance caller but she is also a professor at Vanderbilt University, where she teaches a course called American Social History through Dance. Join us as Susan presents an overview of her course which charts dance history in America from Native American Dance through Hip Hop with a chance to see amazing footage of dance from across the centuries.

Susan Kevra is a dance caller, musician and singer who now makes her home in Nashville, Tennessee. She travels across the country and occasionally, around the globe to teach contra, square dances, English Country dancing and French dancing. She is an accomplished clarinetist and a member of the band, Old World Charm School (with Karen Axelrod and Rachel Bell) who perform French café music and English Country dance tunes. The composer of contra and square dances, Susan represents a new voice in English country dance choreography. Tunes by her bandmate, Rachel Bell, have inspired her to choreograph a dozen English dances and counting, including “Trip to Provence” and “Moonflower” which are making their way onto dance floors and ball programs in the US and England. She is also a professor of French and American Studies at Vanderbilt University, where she teaches a writing seminar, “American Social History through Dance.”

To register, please look for the email invitation from the Mt. Airy listserv. If you are not on the list for our dances, social events and speaker series you can email us at info@thursdaycontra.com. Depending on interest, we will likely live stream the talk to Facebook as well, which doesn't require registration (or even a Facebook account).

For up to date information see our website.

Time Zone Information

Thursday, June 10, 2021, 5:00 PM Pacific time
Thursday, June 10, 2021, 6:00 PM Mountain time
Thursday, June 10, 2021, 7:00 PM Central time
Thursday, June 10, 2021, 8:00 PM Eastern time
Friday, June 11, 2021, 1:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top