View by Month

Jake Blount Virtual House Concert
Saturday, Apr. 10, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern
Contact lynnfeingold0@gmail.com

This concert will be streamed publicly to our Facebook live page, but up to 100 people can also join us (muted!) on Zoom. (If you find that you can't get into the Zoom hall, please be prepared to revert to the livestream that can be found on the Folk Song Society of Greater Boston Facebook page.)

We are thrilled to be presenting Jake Blount! Jake is an award-winning banjoist, fiddler, singer and ethnomusicologist based in Providence, RI. He is half of the internationally touring duo Tui, a 2020 Strathmore Artist in Residence and a board member of Bluegrass Pride. He is a 2020 recipient of the Steve Martin Banjo Prize. Blount specializes in the music of Black communities in the southeastern United States, and in the regional style of the Finger Lakes.

A versatile performer, Blount interpolates blues, bluegrass and spirituals into the old-time string band tradition he belongs to. He foregrounds the experiences of queer people and people of color in his work. His teachers include Rhiannon Giddens, Bruce Molsky and Judy Hyman. He has claimed first place in both the Banjo and the Traditional Band categories at the prestigious Appalachian String Band Music Festival in Clifftop, WV. Blount has shared his music and research at the Smithsonian Institution, Yale University, and Berklee School of Music, among other venues and institutions. He has also appeared on Radiolab, Soundcheck and NPR's Weekend Edition.

He regularly teaches fiddle and banjo at festivals and camps like the Augusta Heritage Center, the Ashokan Center, and Midwest Banjo Camp. Blount tours domestically and internationally as a solo performer, with his duo Tui, and with his band The Moose Whisperers. He has performed and recorded solo, and in ensembles of up to six people. His first full-length solo album, Spider Tales, is out now on Free Dirt Records & Service Co. It debuted at #2 on the Billboard Bluegrass Chart, received positive coverage from NPR, Rolling Stone and Billboard among others, and earned five out of five stars as The Guardian's Folk Album of the Month.

An important note from FSSGB: Let's all do what we can to support performers who have lost income due to the pandemic that has closed down concert venues, music camps, and festivals worldwide. As we have at past virtual concerts, we will ask you to make a donation to support the performer. Watch for a FSSGB donation link to appear in the Zoom chat or the Facebook comments during the performance - it's easy to pay with a credit card or your Paypal account. All donations received on April 10 and 11 will be assumed to be for the performer. Thank you.

Zoom link to the virtual hall for the first 100 people (first come, first in)
If you can't get into the Zoom hall, please go to our Facebook page to find the livestream.

Time Zone Information

Saturday, April 10, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Saturday, April 10, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Saturday, April 10, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Saturday, April 10, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Sunday, April 11, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top