View by Month

All Hands In! Virtual Contra Dance
Saturday, Jun. 12, 2021,  7:30 PM Eastern -  8:45 PM Eastern
Contact text 1/647/989/1555 or email president /at/ tcdance.org

Toronto joins forces with communities across North America ONCE a month during the summer on the 2nd Saturday of June, July, & August to produce All Hands In, a virtual contra dance event open to dancers world-wide. Doors/socializing at 7:00PM, contra dancing from 7:30 PM - 8:45 PM Eastern

June - August 2021 schedule:

  • Saturday June 12th: Contra Classics, Moves, and Grooves: Music by Bandwidth with Lisa Greenleaf calling
  • Saturday July 10th: Music by Arcanist with Bev Bernbaum calling
  • Saturday August 14th: Music by ContraForce with Emily Abel calling

The link below will always bring you to the virtual dance. Note the change that we’re going down to ONE dance/month over the summer, on the 2nd Saturday of each month.

Because this dance uses pre-recorded video to feature our band, it is best if you join via laptop or PC; those joining on a mobile device (phone or tablet) will have difficulty if they like to pin or watch other dancers. Or join with both – use your PC for sound and your mobile device for pinned dancing.

Have you been to a virtual dance yet? If not, you might be surprised how fun it can be. In virtual (online) contra dancing, dancers interact with imaginary people ("ghosts") in the majority of dances. Because of this, we presume that everyone in attendance has contra dancing experience. Walkthroughs are concise, and there won’t be a beginners’ lesson.

That said, when you dance alone in your living room, the contra line is exactly where you imagine it, and unexpected moves become glorious new choreography! So, everyone is always welcome to join.

To attend the dance, click on this link.

Join the event at 7:00PM Eastern on Saturday to join our community social room. There will be a brief introduction to virtual dancing at 7:30PM, and dancing will begin promptly thereafter.

At in-person dances, an entry fee is collected; for All Hands In, we work on the honor system, asking dancers to make a donation to the band. Recommended donation is $10 (more if you can; less if you can’t.)

All of our callers and helpers are volunteering, to help our musicians during a difficult time. You can make your donation to our musicians at this link.

Our bands have put in a tremendous amount of work preparing each set of tunes specifically for our dance, so please give generously.

Toronto’s contra dance community hosts the infrastructure and provides the funding to produce All Hands In, with further volunteer assistance from participating communities.

All Hands In is scheduled every 2nd and 4th Saturday evening until we can dance in person again. You can keep track of scheduled dances on the All Hands In Facebook page or the CDSS website.

We have a generous limit of 500 participants, so tell your contra dancing friends, and feel free to reshare this announcement.

See you at the dance!

Time Zone Information

Saturday, June 12, 2021, 4:30 PM Pacific time
Saturday, June 12, 2021, 5:30 PM Mountain time
Saturday, June 12, 2021, 6:30 PM Central time
Saturday, June 12, 2021, 7:30 PM Eastern time
Sunday, June 13, 2021, 12:30 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top