View by Month

Jenny Sturgeon - Live to Your Living Room
Saturday, May. 1, 2021,  3:00 PM Eastern

Jenny Sturgeon is a singer-songwriter “who brings together the old and new with a rare skill” (R2 Magazine). Jenny’s music is rich with imagery and her songs are bound together by common threads of folklore, nature and the connection people have with the wild.

Sturgeon’s songcraft is at the centre of her engaging and honest performance; with accompaniment on guitar, harmonium and dulcimer she has been described as “inspired and thoroughly engaging” by Folk Radio UK. In 2018 she was nominated as Composer Of The Year in the Scots Trad Music Awards and in 2020 won Best Acoustic at the Scottish Alternative Music Awards.

Jenny’s music has been played on BBC Radio Scotland, Radio 3, Radio 6 Music, Radio 2, and Radio Nan Gaidheal – including being featured as artist of the week and doing live sessions for Travelling Folk and BBC Radio 3. Jenny’s release ‘The Wren and The Salt Air’ – a commission for The National Trust of Scotland – featured on national STV news, and her song ‘Charmer’ was featured at number 9 of The Herald’s best 100 songs of 2018. Jenny’s recent album is a collection of songs inspired by Nan Shepherd’s book ‘The Living Mountain’.

“One might argue it’s only when moulded in the hands of artists like Jenny Sturgeon that powerful messages of the wilderness have the potential to move all our lives in a green direction’ – Irish Music Magazine

“Sturgeon uses empathetic music, ambient sound and a deep lyrical gift to illuminate her own connections to landscape and nature. – From the Margins

“I love her voice and the way she sings, she’s got a great feel for her music” – Mike Harding

“An exquisite, spellbinding, life-affirming and totally immersive experience.” – Folking.com

Time Zone Information

Saturday, May 1, 2021, 12:00 PM Pacific time
Saturday, May 1, 2021, 1:00 PM Mountain time
Saturday, May 1, 2021, 2:00 PM Central time
Saturday, May 1, 2021, 3:00 PM Eastern time
Saturday, May 1, 2021, 8:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top