View by Month

Contra Chestnuts: A New Look at Old Dances with David Millstone
Sunday, May. 2, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern -  8:00 PM Eastern
Contact Presented by NMFolkMADS, folkmads.org

What makes a dance a chestnut? What's so special about these dances anyhow? What are some common misconceptions about them? Join us for a deep dive into a handful of these beloved classics; they provide a window into contra dance history, and American history as well. David will share some stories and will lead a discussion about chestnuts in the future.

About David Millstone:

David Millstone, Lebanon, NH, discovered contra dances in the early 1970s; he has been a caller for more than 40 years—contras, squares, English country dance, and family-friendly events. He has appeared at venues across North America and in eight European countries. He is past President of the Country Dance and Song Society, and co-ordinates the Square Dance History Project. David is co-author of Cracking Chestnuts, a book about classic American contra dances; he wrote the contra dance history chapter of Dance a While; he created video documentaries about Bob McQuillen, Dudley Laufman, and Ralph Sweet; and he has presented numerous talks on dance history at weekends and dance camps.

Time Zone Information

Sunday, May 2, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Sunday, May 2, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Sunday, May 2, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Sunday, May 2, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Monday, May 3, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top