View by Month

Playford Past & Present Virtual Dance Workshop
Sunday, May. 9, 2021, 11:00 AM Eastern -  1:00 PM Eastern
Contact judith@fcsh.org.uk; www.fcsh.org.uk

The next FCSH Playford Past & Present virtual workshop will take place on Sunday, 9 May at 4PM (5 PM on the continent, 11 AM on the East Coast, 10 AM Central, 9 AM Mountain and 8 AM on the West Coast). Registration is now open.

Between 1700 and 1715, the dancing master Mr. Isaac published a series of dances choreographed for two dancers. These were formal court dances—les bals serieux as opposed to les bals ordinaires—that reflected the exchange of ideas across the Channel. These dances have historically attracted little attention from country dancers, but in the pandemic they hold new interest as we find ourselves dancing at home, solo or with just one other dancer. Over the past few months, Louise Siddons has been interpreting some of these dances, by Mr. Isaac and others, focusing on their inventive and enjoyable patterns. In preparation for this workshop, she worked with musicians Mollie Koenigsberger and Linda Game to explore the original tunes published alongside the dances, and Linda Game has created new arrangements of the tunes just for us.

Admission by advance registration only. Please email judith@fcsh.org.uk by 8 May. 

Contributions to the tip jar greatly appreciated.

 

Time Zone Information

Sunday, May 9, 2021, 8:00 AM Pacific time
Sunday, May 9, 2021, 9:00 AM Mountain time
Sunday, May 9, 2021, 10:00 AM Central time
Sunday, May 9, 2021, 11:00 AM Eastern time
Sunday, May 9, 2021, 4:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top