View by Month

English Country Dance with Andrea Nettleton and Reelplay (an Atlanta DistDance Event)
Monday, May. 10, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:00 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus - dmarcus123@gmail.com

Reelplay and the Atlanta DistDance are looking forward to a special-for-us English Country Dance on Monday, 5/10, with Andrea Nettleton. We shared the stage with her more than once as she cut her calling teeth in Atlanta under the tutelage of Seth Tepfer but haven't had the chance since she relocated to the DC area a few years ago and her calling career took off. Other than everything else, we love her musical calling as well as the intelligence of the dances that she has written. Please join us! Come to listen, to watch, to knit, to see friends, or even while you're reshingling your roof—you're always welcome. PS: Don't forget - Friday, May 7, we have a program of English and American with Seth Tepfer with Molly Tucker and Casey Murray.

Social time: 7:00-9++ pm US Eastern time
Tai chi warmup with Cis Hinkle: 7:10-7:30
Music for listening and dancing: 7:30-9:00ish
After-party social starts at 9:00
Caller: Andrea Nettleton
Band: Reelplay
Link
Donations

Socialize, enjoy listening to good music, chatting with friends, and dance if it moves you. Stay with us after the dance as we go around the circle and share the highlight of our week!

Our all-ECD program (plus a pair of waltzes) is selected to be easy and satisfying for one or two people.

Callers, bands, and our sound tech are not paid—they rely on your generous tips. Please use the link above to donate as you can.

Caller and choreographer Andrea Nettleton, who cut her calling teeth in Atlanta, offers choice dances, thoughtfully written/adapted, for maximum enjoyment in your living room or on your deck. Her clear teaching and musical, melodious calling lead to an enchanting dance experience enjoyed by dancers across the country. She is well known for beautiful and intricate dances that the composes, and for the dance intelligence she shows in her programs as well as her choreography.

Reelplay, an Atlanta dance band with both England and New England in their hearts, features Dave Marcus, concertina, and Robbin L Marcus on piano (and a bit of percussion). They enjoy an eclectic mix of tunes including New England, Quebecois, bal folk, ECD, and many originals. Playing in bands such as Over the Moon, 'Round Robbin, Renewable Energy and Holy Coyote, these musicians have lifted dancers’ feet and spirits for several decades.

Dancers say: "The live music that Reelplay offers is a real treat ... Such a pleasure to dance to! ... Your music is amazing. You definitely have a unique and danceable sound." And, "Ah…. Gorgeous! ….the lyricism, the lifts in the piano….peaceful and lovely." - Daron Douglas. Listen to Reelplay here.

Doors open at 7:00 Eastern for socializing and Zoom tips for those who would like it and social time for those who’ve done it before. Dancing starts at 7:30 with the last waltz at about 9:00, and the hall will remain open for visiting, games, and farewells.

Please share with your friends near and far! If they are novices, invite them for the 7:10 intro session. Hope to see you there!

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Seth Tepfer, Kimbi Hagen, Cis Hinkle, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus. They are not sponsored by the Chattahoochee Contra Dancers or ECD Atlanta. Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling.

Time Zone Information

Monday, May 10, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Monday, May 10, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Monday, May 10, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Monday, May 10, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Tuesday, May 11, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top