View by Month

English Country Dance with Susan English and Reelplay (an Atlanta DistDance Event)
Monday, May. 24, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:00 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus - dmarcus123@gmail.com

Please join us Monday, 5/24, as Susan English joins Reelplay for a program of English Country Dances at the Atlanta DistDance. The program includes Kind and Easey, Elizabeth, The Jolly Company, Jackey Tarr, The Waggoner, The King’s Maggot, Emma's Commencement and Beautious Grove. Come to dance or just to listen, come to chat, or just to hang out with a warm community.

And don't forget: Friday, 5/21, Meg Dedolph calls to the music of Sam Bartlett and Eric Schedler for a half contra, half English evening.

Social time: 7:00-9++ pm US Eastern time
Tai chi warmup with Cis Hinkle: 7:10-7:30
Music for listening and dancing: 7:30-9:00ish
After-party social starts at 9:00
Caller: Susan English
Band: Reelplay
Event Link
Donations

Socialize, enjoy listening to good music, chatting with friends, and dance if it moves you. Stay with us after the dance as we go around the circle and share the highlight of our week!

Our all-ECD program (plus a pair of waltzes) is selected to be easy and satisfying for one or two people.

Callers, bands, and our sound tech are not paid—they rely on your generous tips. Please use the link above to donate as you can.

A caller for more than 30 years, Susan English is known for her eclectic and fun programs. She founded the Wooster on-line dance where we've seen or heard everything from film scores to schottisches. You are guaranteed a clear teaching and a fun program of contras, ECDs, and a pair of waltzes on Friday with Susan.

Reelplay, an Atlanta dance band with both England and New England in their hearts, features Dave Marcus, concertina, and Robbin L Marcus on piano (and a bit of percussion). They enjoy an eclectic mix of tunes including New England, Quebecois, bal folk, ECD, and many originals. Playing in bands such as Over the Moon, 'Round Robbin, Renewable Energy and Holy Coyote, these musicians have lifted dancers’ feet and spirits for several decades.

Dancers say: "The live music that Reelplay offers is a real treat ... Such a pleasure to dance to! ... Your music is amazing. You definitely have a unique and danceable sound." And, "Ah…. Gorgeous! ….the lyricism, the lifts in the piano….peaceful and lovely." - Daron Douglas. Listen to Reelplay here.

Doors open at 7:00 Eastern for socializing and Zoom tips for those who would like it and social time for those who’ve done it before. Dancing starts at 7:30 with the last waltz at about 9:00, and the hall will remain open for visiting, games, and farewells.

Please share with your friends near and far! If they are novices, invite them for the 7:10 intro session. Hope to see you there!

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Seth Tepfer, Kimbi Hagen, Cis Hinkle, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus. They are not sponsored by the Chattahoochee Contra Dancers or ECD Atlanta. Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling

Time Zone Information

Monday, May 24, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Monday, May 24, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Monday, May 24, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Monday, May 24, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Tuesday, May 25, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top