View by Month

Anna Patton's Soubrette Choir Concert
Sunday, Jun. 13, 2021,  4:00 PM Eastern -  5:00 PM Eastern
Contact gingervjc@gmail.com, http://www.vtjazz.org/ (802) 254-9088 https://www.facebook.com/VermontJazzCenter

Join Anna Patton & The Soubrettes for an online concert and help them raise money to have their debut album, 'Town,' mixed and mastered and even printed to CD! 

Donations are greatly appreciated (and tax deductible).

Attend virtually via a well known online meeting platform (yes, that one).
Register here to attend the meeting, OR watch live right here and donate any time.

Suggested donation scale: $10 - $30

The Soubrettes are a singing ensemble based at the Vermont Jazz Center and led by Anna Patton. They specialize in close-harmony arrangements of swing, jazz, blues, and songs by contemporary songwriters. They take the moniker “Soubrette” from the musical theater term for the non-leading lady who is usually more worldly, funnier, and more instrumental to plot intrigue than the lead. The Choir seeks out these kinds of Soubrette-like songs and performs them with syncopation, panache, and wonderfully crunchy harmonies.

A year in which they couldn’t perform as usual seemed like a good time to revisit some favorite songs from their twelve years together and make a remotely-recorded album. They chose songs by songwriters including Irving Berlin, Carsie Blanton, Mose Allison, and Kris Delmhorst and arrangements based on performances by Billie Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald, McCoy Tyner, and Cecile Mcloran Salvant. They rehearsed online and recorded individually, mostly by showing up to Anna’s porch where mic and headphone cables were dangling out her second-story office window. Some of Vermont’s finest instrumentalists joined Anna in creating the accompaniment tracks, including Will Patton, Eugene Uman, and Dono Schabner. The recording project has been a true labor of love, and their concert will feature their never-before-heard rough mixes: a sneak peek at recorded tracks that won’t be available for some months yet! There will also be moments of live audio, music videos, and a few of the group’s favorite short jokes.

Time Zone Information

Sunday, June 13, 2021, 1:00 PM Pacific time
Sunday, June 13, 2021, 2:00 PM Mountain time
Sunday, June 13, 2021, 3:00 PM Central time
Sunday, June 13, 2021, 4:00 PM Eastern time
Sunday, June 13, 2021, 9:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top