View by Month

Syncopaths at BACDS Concert/Contra/Party/Games
Sunday, Jun. 27, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern
To Monday, Jun. 28, 2021
Contact Claire@bacds.org, 408 874-6840, https://www.facebook.com/ClaireTakemoriDanceCaller/events

We are thrilled to have Jacqui Grennan (CA) calling fun online dances, with sublime music by The Syncopaths: Ryan McKasson on fiddle (WA), Ashley Hoyer on mandolin (CA), Christa Burch on bodhran & vocals (CA), and Jeffrey Spero on piano (CA).

*30 minute concert & 60 min contra, then socializing and games*

The role terms used: Larks on the Left, Robins on the Right.

For anyone new to online dancing:

There are no expectations about how you should interact. It's OK to just listen, watch, or chat.... & many of us do all of those on different days. Others dance with videos on or off, and some interact on the video camera (maybe PIN videos with a friend), others dance with a broom or stuffed animal, and some play along with the tunes (with their sound muted). Feel free to do whatever is comfortable for you. Most are so happy to see friends or meet folks from around the world. We hope it brings you some joy, but tears are normal too. We realize online dance will never replace in-person dance & community, but it's better than nothing for many of us, and surprisingly better than we thought it would be. There is no newcomers introduction. Feel free to join and enjoy the wonderful music how ever you'd like!

If you want a refresher, check out this video.

Schedule

Times listed in Pacific Standard Time (+1 MST, +2 CST, +3 EST, +8 GMT, +18 NSW)

  • 3:55pm Doors Open
  • 4:00pm Live Concert with the Syncopaths
  • 4:30pm Breakout Conversations
  • 4:35pm Warm-up stretches
  • 4:45pm Dancing with Jacqui Grennan and the Syncopaths
  • 5:50pm Party
  • 6:10pm Games and chat rooms until ....? Games, info

Tip Jar

* Everyone is very welcome, regardless of ability to donate.

* Please take care of yourself first. If you are able, donations benefit the musicians, caller, & sound tech.


For your listening pleasure, we will use the following Zoom meeting features:

MUTE ALL (and you can't unmute) during the concert & dance. Raise your hand or send a CHAT message if you need help.

If you have audio issues, Stop your video. Use the "Z00m" App not the browser. Close ALL other apps on your device. Connect to internet with ethernet cable. Connect to power on your device, running on battery can slow functions. Move closer to your WiFi.

You can "CHAT" with everyone and "Direct Message" with your friends.

Please do not send a Direct Message to someone you don't know, if the content of the message can't be sent in the public chat.


We look forward to seeing you! Thank you for supporting these musicians with your presence, appreciation, and donations if you're able.

We appreciate your feedback and ideas for future events. Claire@bacds.org

Time Zone Information

Sunday, June 27, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Sunday, June 27, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Sunday, June 27, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Sunday, June 27, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Monday, June 28, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top