View by Month

Contra+ECD with Michael Karcher & Reelplay (an Atlanta DistDance event)
Friday, Jun. 18, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:00 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus (dmarcus123@gmail.com)

Zoom on down, y'all, and enjoy an evening of contra and ECD with Michael Karcher, Seattle's dreamy raconteur, and Reelplay. The ECDs will be Mary K, Bellamira, Key to the Cellar, and Lilliburlero. Come to listen, to dance, to knit, to dream, to plot, or to be (or not to be) ... that is the invitation. Friday, June 18, 7-9pm Eastern with a tai chi warmup led by Cis Hinkle starting at 7:10.

When: Friday June 18; doors open 7:00pm EDT (0:00 BST; 4:00pm PDT); live music and dance 7:30-9:00
Tai chi warmup with Cis Hinkle: 7:10-7:30
Caller: Michael Karcher
Band: ReelPlay (Robbin Marcus, piano & percussion; Dave Marcus, concertina)

Location
Donations

Enjoy dancing and watching your friends dance, chat and socialize, get some exercise, enjoy good music.

The program of contra and ECD (and a free waltz or two) is selected by the caller to be easy to do and satisfying with one or two people. The ECDs will be Mary K, Bellamira, Key to the Cellar, and Lilliburlero.

Callers, bands, and our sound tech are not paid—they rely on your generous tips. Please use the link above to donate as you can.

Seattle's dreamy raconteur Michael Karcher has been having the time of his life calling dances and weekends around the North America since 2011. He has honed a warm and concise style of teaching and calling to the delight of dancers across the continent. With Michael calling the sweetest dances, your evening of contra magic is in good hands.

Reelplay is a New England-style contra dance band from Atlanta with Dave Marcus, concertina, and Robbin L Marcus on piano (and a bit of percussion) playing a mix of tunes including New England, Quebecois, bal folk, ECD, and originals. Playing in bands such as Over the Moon, 'Round Robbin, Renewable Energy and Holy Coyote, these musicians have lifted dancers’ feet and spirits for several decades. A recent dance organizer said this about Reelplay: "The music was FANTASTIC! Great variety, fun, beautiful. Just great!!"

Doors open at 7:00 Eastern for a Zoom lesson for those who would like it and social time for those who’ve done it before. Be sure to clear out some dance space in your house, charge your device, and come on down (virtually, of course) to enjoy this dance and community event. Dancing starts at 7:30 with the last waltz at 8:45, and the hall will remain open for another 15 minutes for chitchat and farewells. Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling.

Please share with your friends near and far! Hope to see you Friday!

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Seth Tepfer, Kimbi Sessions Hagen, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus. They are not sponsored by the Chattahoochee Contra Dancers or ECD Atlanta.

Time Zone Information

Friday, June 18, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Friday, June 18, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Friday, June 18, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Friday, June 18, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Saturday, June 19, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top