View by Month

Queer Chanteys, Queer Sailors
Friday, Jun. 25, 2021,  6:00 PM Eastern -  7:00 PM Eastern

For the fourth installment in the Sea Songs and Sea Lives webinar series, join chantey singers Lafayette Matthews (he/him) and Jules Peiperl (they/them), as well as sailor Miriam Rocek (she/they), a former deckhand and educator on Seaport Museum’s schooner Pioneer, on Friday, June 25th to explore the history of queerness in traditional sailing, including hidden in traditional songs, as well as queerness in the modern Tall Ship world. Speakers will also discuss how the world of traditional music has become a gathering place for members of the LGBTQ+ community.

Special guests include singer/songwriter Alex Sturbaum (they/them). The conversation will be illustrated with images from the Seaport Museum's collection, and will include many songs, with lyrics provided so guests can sing along from home. A brief Q&A will conclude the program.

Time Zone Information

Friday, June 25, 2021, 3:00 PM Pacific time
Friday, June 25, 2021, 4:00 PM Mountain time
Friday, June 25, 2021, 5:00 PM Central time
Friday, June 25, 2021, 6:00 PM Eastern time
Friday, June 25, 2021, 11:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top