View by Month

Folklore Society of Greater Washington Pride Concert
Sunday, Jun. 27, 2021,  7:30 PM Eastern -  9:00 PM Eastern

Sunday night virtual concert: a musical celebration of pride month with Mo Brachfeld, Darrow Sherman, and Alex Sturbaum!

Register for a Zoom link.

Tunes, songs, and percussive dance.

About the musicians:

Mo Brachfeld (they/them) is a musician, dancer, and caller from Washington, DC. With a background in Irish and contra dance music, Mo performs on fiddle, mandolin, feet, and voice, in addition to choreographing dances and writing tunes. This year Mo has become especially interested in writing what they refer to as “queer tunes,” (as opposed to what are known as “straight tunes” - pieces with 32 measures and AABB structure) so expect pieces with extra measures, unusual structors, or strange keys.

On fiddles, banjos, guitar, and voice, Darrow Sherman (they/them) is a musician and multi-instrumentalist based in Amherst, MA. From growing up in the thick of Washington, DC’s Irish Trad scene to more recently exploring the cross-genre music of North American string bands and traditional solo artists, their music is tied to a sense of community and curiosity.

Steeped in musical traditions from both sides of the Atlantic, Alex Sturbaum is a master of many folk genres. Alex originally hails from Cincinnati, OH, and now resides in Olympia, WA. Their instrumental prowess, complex songwriting, thoughtful engagement with the tradition, and welcoming spirit has made them a mainstay of the folk community in the Pacific Northwest and beyond. Alex will share traditional and original songs and tunes from Celtic, American, Canadian, and maritime traditions.

Time Zone Information

Sunday, June 27, 2021, 4:30 PM Pacific time
Sunday, June 27, 2021, 5:30 PM Mountain time
Sunday, June 27, 2021, 6:30 PM Central time
Sunday, June 27, 2021, 7:30 PM Eastern time
Monday, June 28, 2021, 12:30 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top