View by Month

ECD with Kalia Kliban & Reelplay (an Atlanta DistDance event)
Monday, Jun. 28, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:00 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus (dmarcus123@gmail.com)

Please join Kalia Kliban and Reelplay for an evening of good dance and good company on Monday, June 28th. Doors open at 7 US Eastern. A tai chi warmup starts at 7:10 and dancing runs from 7:30 to 9ish.

The dance program, not in this order, might be summarized as: Orleans, usually smart, was Baffled by A Health to All Honest Men and Exeter Ladies who buy chocolate on Lovely Lane, Saint Margaret's Hill (or is it Saint Katherine's?) in the Land of Mist and Wonder, but then again, Orleans had never solved the Chocolate Equation and so wasn't himself very healthy—all he ever ate was milk chocolate, which is similar to lukewarm decaf coffee laced with organic soy milk poison (and Splenda).

Social time: 7:00-9++ pm US Eastern time
Tai chi warmup with Cis Hinkle: 7:10-7:30
Music for listening and dancing: 7:30-9:00ish
After-party social starts at 9:00
Caller: Kalia Kliban
Band: Reelplay
Link
Donations

Socialize, enjoy listening to good music, chatting with friends, and dance if it moves you. Stay with us after the dance as we go around the circle and share the highlight of our week!

Our all-ECD program (plus a pair of waltzes) is selected to be easy and satisfying for one or two people.

Callers, bands, and our sound tech are not paid—they rely on your generous tips. Please use the link above to donate as you can.

Kalia Kliban has been part of the California Bay Area traditional dance scene since the mid-80s, performing and teaching in a wide range of styles. At dance camps and festivals across the country she has taught morris, longsword, English and American clogging, English country dance and contra, and she's a regular contra and English caller in the vibrant Bay Area dance community. Her welcoming and relaxed teaching style has helped dancers of all levels experience the joy of traditional dance.

Reelplay, an Atlanta dance band with both England and New England in their hearts, features Dave Marcus, concertina, and Robbin L Marcus on piano (and a bit of percussion). They enjoy an eclectic mix of tunes including New England, Quebecois, bal folk, ECD, and many originals. Playing in bands such as Over the Moon, 'Round Robbin, Renewable Energy and Holy Coyote, these musicians have lifted dancers’ feet and spirits for several decades.

Dancers say: "The live music that Reelplay offers is a real treat ... Such a pleasure to dance to! ... Your music is amazing. You definitely have a unique and danceable sound." And, "Ah…. Gorgeous! ….the lyricism, the lifts in the piano….peaceful and lovely." - Daron Douglas. Listen to Reelplay here.

Doors open at 7:00 Eastern for socializing and Zoom tips for those who would like it and social time for those who’ve done it before. Dancing starts at 7:30 with the last waltz at about 9:00, and the hall will remain open for visiting, games, and farewells.

Please share with your friends near and far! If they are novices, invite them for the 7:10 intro session. Hope to see you there!

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Seth Tepfer, Kimbi Hagen, Cis Hinkle, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus. They are not sponsored by the Chattahoochee Contra Dancers or ECD Atlanta. Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling.

Time Zone Information

Monday, June 28, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Monday, June 28, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Monday, June 28, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Monday, June 28, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Tuesday, June 29, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top