View by Month

Contra+ECD with Claire Takemori with Tom Cunningham & Kate Sanders (an Atlanta DistDance event) Online Event
Friday, Jul. 2, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:00 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus (dmarcus123@gmail.com)

Please join Claire Takemori, Tom Cunningham and Kate Sanders on Friday, 7/2, for a program of English and contra dances at Atlanta DistDance's 80th dance of the pandemic. All are welcome, whether to dance, listen, chat and visit, or all. BYOB, of course.

What: Virtual Dance (contra, English, more)
When: Friday July 2; doors open 7:00pm EDT (0:00 BST; 4:00pm PDT); live music and dance 7:30-9:00
Tai chi warmup with Cis Hinkle: 7:10-7:30

Caller: Claire Takemori
Band: Tom Cunningham & Kate Sanders
Event Link
Donations: PayPal or Venmo: @TOM-CUNNINGHAM-0

Enjoy dancing and watching your friends dance, chat and socialize, get some exercise, enjoy good music—just zoom on down and join us.

The program of contra and ECD (and a free waltz or two) is selected by the caller to be easy to do and satisfying with one or two people.

Callers, bands, and our sound tech are not paid—they rely on your generous tips. Please use the link above to donate as you can.

Our caller, Claire Takemori, is well-known as a welcoming caller with clear teaching, and a fun variety of dances. She is also a rather incredible person who has given a ton of encouragement, assistance, time, and connection to virtual dance organizers, musicians, callers and sound techs during this pandemic year. We at the Atlanta DistDance over her a ton gratitude (but believe, us, we booked her because she is GOOD!)

Tom Cunningham (fiddle) and Kate Sanders (keyboard) have been playing together for about 5 years, and have recorded a CD of original waltzes, and 2 CDs with their contra dance band, Hot Coffee Breakdown. They've traveled around the eastern states playing for both contra and English and both compose tunes for dancers. They have been dancing about 30 years, and playing music much longer than that, with influences ranging from Celtic to Appalachian, to French Canadian, jazz, and rock.

Doors open at 7:00 Eastern for social time. with a tai chi warmup starting at 7:10. Be sure to clear out some dance space in your house, charge your device, and come on down (virtually, of course) to enjoy this dance and community event. Dancing starts at 7:30 with the last waltz at about 8:55, and the hall will remain open for another 15 minutes for chitchat and farewells. Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling.

Please share with your friends near and far! Hope to see you Friday!

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Seth Tepfer, Kimbi Sessions Hagen, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus. They are not sponsored by the Chattahoochee Contra Dancers or ECD Atlanta.

Time Zone Information

Friday, July 2, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Friday, July 2, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Friday, July 2, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Friday, July 2, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Saturday, July 3, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top