View by Month

Saturday Evening Waltz Party with Pepperjack
Saturday, Jul. 3, 2021, 10:00 PM Eastern - 11:00 PM Eastern
Contact craig@nbcds.org

Pepperjack (Scott Jespersen, Jess Newman, and Derry Akin) join us for NBCDS’ Saturday Evening Waltz Party, July 3 from 7-8 pm PT, performing live from Eric Black's new dance deck at his La Honda, California home. 

Scott Jespersen is a pianist, fiddler, composer, and multi-instrumentalist from the Bay Area. After years playing classical violin, he began Irish fiddle lessons from Lee Anne Welch, who introduced him to contra dance. Since then, he has composed and performed in different settings: dance bands, jazz combos, a cappella groups, choirs, worship bands, and symphony orchestras. He plays contras with Pepperjack and Back Pocket, and writes and jams with Nebula (jazz quintet).
 
Jess Newman started playing contra dances in 2017 with Pepperjack, and later formed Back Pocket with Will Wheeler. Jess' driving, rhythmic fiddle style draws inspiration from contemporary folk players and composers, with special thanks to Jess' fiddle teachers: Ryan McKasson, and YouTube Slowed Down to 50%. Jess also enjoys writing original tunes with guitar and mandolin player Mark Price (see Jess and Mark Music).

Multi-instrumentalist Derry Akin has been playing American and Irish traditional music since she was a young teen. Her main instruments are fiddle and piano. When Derry isn’t playing music on-stage, teaching, or researching traditional music, you can most definitely find her out on the dance floor: contra dance, Irish céilí, and Irish step dance are her favorites!

Hosted on-site by Eric Black; Zoom hosting by Sarah Lee. For the on-line link, e-mail craig@craigmeltzner.com.

Time Zone Information

Saturday, July 3, 2021, 7:00 PM Pacific time
Saturday, July 3, 2021, 8:00 PM Mountain time
Saturday, July 3, 2021, 9:00 PM Central time
Saturday, July 3, 2021, 10:00 PM Eastern time
Sunday, July 4, 2021, 3:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top