View by Month

Benji Kirkpatrick & The Excess
Wednesday, Jul. 21, 2021,  3:00 PM Eastern -  5:00 PM Eastern

Prolific roots musician Benji Kirkpatrick is well known for being a founder member of big-band folk trailblazers, Bellowhead, a current member of Faustus and Steeleye Span and sometime Seth Lakeman collaborator. Over the last few years, he has been writing and cooking up plans for his own project, which was unveiled in 2019 as Benji Kirkpatrick & The Excess.

‘Multi instrumental virtuoso’ (Tom Robinson, BBC Radio 6 Music), Benji is now bringing his own writings vibrantly to life in this a classic power trio with Pete Thomas on bass, and usually has Bellowhead band-mate, Pete Flood, on drums, although sadly we will be without him for this livestream.

With Benji leading on acoustic & electric bouzoukis and guitar, the band stoke up rhythms, riffs and uproarious, soaring melodies; sometimes cacophonous, sometimes stark and raw, at times sensitive, always powerful.

The trio’s debut album is a dynamic, rhythmic alt roots album, with beautiful emotional moments and a strong underlying power. The album title ‘Gold Has Worn Away’ refers to the fading promises of Western capitalist society, Benji explains: “I feel that people are largely ready for songs about social and political matters, the times sort of demand it.”

NOTE

This event will be held on Zoom with a remote sound engineer for professional quality sound.

Time Zone Information

Wednesday, July 21, 2021, 12:00 PM Pacific time
Wednesday, July 21, 2021, 1:00 PM Mountain time
Wednesday, July 21, 2021, 2:00 PM Central time
Wednesday, July 21, 2021, 3:00 PM Eastern time
Wednesday, July 21, 2021, 8:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top