View by Month

English Country Dance with Sharon Spangler & Reelplay (an Atlanta DistDance Event)
Monday, Jul. 12, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:00 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus (dmarcus123@gmail.com)

Please zoom over to join Sharon Spangler & Reelplay for an all-ECD program at the Atlanta DistDance on Monday, 7/12. Program notes: Ms. Bennett and Ms. Greenholm were arguing rather quackily whether to go to Well House, the way to which Muriel had already Measured, or to bushwack through the woods to Red House, but Henry heard the call of the wild Hornpipe and and insisted that the threesome just drift down the dreamy Juniata amongst fields of Bluebonnets and red squirrels. Row, row, row your boat, my friends, and merrily drink the wine...life is but a dream!

Social time: 7:00-9++ pm US Eastern time
Tai chi warmup with Cis Hinkle: 7:10-7:30
Music for listening and dancing: 7:30-9:00ish
After-party social starts at 9:00
Caller: Sharon Spangler
Band: Reelplay
Link
Donations

Socialize, enjoy listening to good music, chatting with friends, and dance if it moves you. Stay with us after the dance as we go around the circle and share the highlight of our week!

Our all-ECD program (plus a pair of waltzes) is selected to be easy and satisfying for one or two people.

Callers, bands, and our sound tech are not paid—they rely on your generous tips. Please use the link above to donate as you can.

Calling weekly for the Symmetry ECD dances, Sharon Spangler entertains dancers from California to the UK. Here's what her dancers are saying: "She said exactly the words you needed to hear at exactly the correct time . . . the one dance I rearrange my whole schedule to not miss . . . a brilliant programme. THANK YOU Sharon and all involved in giving us the joy of dancing."

Reelplay, an Atlanta dance band with both England and New England in their hearts, features Dave Marcus, concertina, and Robbin L Marcus on piano (and a bit of percussion). They enjoy an eclectic mix of tunes including New England, Quebecois, bal folk, ECD, and many originals. Playing in bands such as Over the Moon, 'Round Robbin, Renewable Energy and Holy Coyote, these musicians have lifted dancers’ feet and spirits for several decades.

Dancers say: "The live music that Reelplay offers is a real treat ... Such a pleasure to dance to! ... Your music is amazing. You definitely have a unique and danceable sound." And, "Ah…. Gorgeous! ….the lyricism, the lifts in the piano….peaceful and lovely." - Daron Douglas. Listen to Reelplay here.

Doors open at 7:00 Eastern for socializing and Zoom tips for those who would like it and social time for those who’ve done it before. Dancing starts at 7:30 with the last waltz at about 9:00, and the hall will remain open for visiting, games, and farewells.

Please share with your friends near and far! If they are novices, invite them for the 7:10 intro session. Hope to see you there!

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Seth Tepfer, Kimbi Hagen, Cis Hinkle, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus. They are not sponsored by the Chattahoochee Contra Dancers or ECD Atlanta. Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling.

Time Zone Information

Monday, July 12, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Monday, July 12, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Monday, July 12, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Monday, July 12, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Tuesday, July 13, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top