View by Month

Contra & English with Drew Delaware, Bethany Waickman & Glen Loper (an Atlanta DistDance Event)
Friday, Jul. 30, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:15 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus (dmarcus123@gmail.com)

Enjoy a half-contra and half-English Country Dance program, some free waltzes and a tai chi warmup led by Cis Hinkle, all at Atlanta's Friday DistDance. After-party at 9.

When: Friday, July 30th
Social time: 7:00-9:15pm US Eastern time
Tai chi warm-up with Cis Hinkle: 7:10-7:30
Music for listening and dancing: 7:30-9:00ish
Caller: Drew Delaware
Band: Bethany Waickman & Glen Loper

Link

Tip jar: PayPal =or= Venmo to: @Glen-Loper =or= checks to:
Glen Loper
49 Brackett St., Apt 2
Portland, ME 04102

If you haven't tried a virtual dance, give it a go. Like live dances, our dances are social events as much as anything—the chance to connect with other dancers, to be part of a community, to remind ourselves of life pre-isolation and look forward to post-isolation. Some people use it like a radio hour and listen while washing dishes or cleaning house. Many don't dance but many do, so enjoy dancing if you are moved, or just enjoy chatting with your friends or listening to good music.

Callers and bands are not paid—they rely on your generous tips. Please donate to their tip jar [above] as you can.

Drew Delaware is an inventive and joyful caller from Toronto, Canada, who has called coast to coast and beyond. Drew has been an early advocate for creative adaptations of dance choreography for virtual dancing, and is involved with multiple virtual initiatives.

Raised in southern Maine, Glen Loper has played mandolin for over twenty years. He turned his focus to fiddle music after discovering the contradance scene in college. Since then, he has dedicated as much time as possible to traditional music and dance. Glen has toured with a number of bands to play dances, weddings, and festivals across the country.

Bethany Waickman is a guitarist based in Portland, Maine. She accompanies some of the country's finest players, be it at dance halls, pub sessions, or on the concert stage. Bethany grew up playing both classical and folk music with her family in northern New York and was drawn to the New England dance scene after discovering the world of festivals and music camps in her teenage years. Bethany is a mainstay in the New England contradance circuit, playing in countless combinations of the scene's myriad musicians.

We encourage you to stay with us after the dance as we go around the circle and share the highlight of our week and, in some weeks, engage in a game or two.

Our programs are selected to be easy and satisfying with one or two people. You're also welcome to just listen and hang out with us. If you'd like to warm up with 20 minutes of tai chi, arrive at 7:10 for a session with Cis Hinkle. 

Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling.

Please share with your friends near and far! Hope to see you Friday! 

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Seth Tepfer, Cis Hinkle, Kimbi Hagen, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus in the great state of Georgia but are not sponsored by the Chattahoochee Contra Dancers or ECD Atlanta. 

Time Zone Information

Friday, July 30, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Friday, July 30, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Friday, July 30, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Friday, July 30, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Saturday, July 31, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top