View by Month

TapRoot Sessions: Bruce Molsky, Old-time Mountain Music, Master Fiddler
Sunday, Aug. 22, 2021,  5:00 PM Eastern -  6:15 PM Eastern
Contact Beth Carlson

Sunday, August 22, Shows at 5pm and 7pm (rain cancels)
Dewey Memorial Hall, 91 Main Street, Sheffield, MA 01257

Tickets: $25 advance discount (available until August 15th), $30 at the door and week prior.

For more information: taprootsessions@gmail.com, 413 429 1176
RAIN CANCELS, Refunds will be issued.
Enjoy 10% off pizza at Roberto's Pizza the day of the concert (show your ticket).
Picnicking welcome, non alcoholic beverages only.

About Bruce Molsky:

"Bruce Molsky is one of those great players who 'gets it': has all the links to the past but is happy not to be chained to it" - Mark Knopfler

"Molsky is easily one of the nation's most talented fiddlers...he transports you ... geographically, historically, and most of all emotionally" - Mother Jones

"It is no exaggeration to say that Bruce Molsky is one of the greatest American fiddlers of all time. His playing is mesmerizing and transporting, and best experienced live" - WBUR (Boston NPR)

"An absolute master" - No Depression

"An incredible power of history and tradition in his vocal" - Linda Ronstadt

"One of the world's premier Appalachian-style fiddlers" - Bloomberg News

"A mystical awareness of how to bring out the new in something that is old" - Mark O'Connor

He’s a self-described “street kid” from the Bronx who bailed on college and big city life for a cold-water cabin in Virginia in the 1970s. His mission? To soak up the passion that was dramatically upending his parent’s life plan for him – authentic Appalachian mountain music – at the feet of its legendary pioneers, old masters who are now long gone.

Today, Bruce Molsky is one of the most revered “multi-hyphenated career” ambassadors for America’s old-time mountain music. For decades, he’s been a globetrotting performer and educator, a recording artist with an expansive discography including seven solo albums, well over a dozen collaborations and two Grammy-nominations. He’s also the classic “musician’s musician” – a man who’s received high praise from diverse fans and collaborators like Linda Ronstadt, Mark Knopfler, Celtic giants Donal Lunny and Andy Irvine, jazzer Bill Frisell and dobro master Jerry Douglas, a true country gentleman by way of the Big Apple aptly dubbed “the Rembrandt of Appalachian fiddlers” by virtuoso violinist and sometimes bandmate Darol Anger.

Molsky digs deep to transport audiences to another time and place, with his authentic feel for and the unearthing of almost-forgotten rarities from the Southern Appalachian songbook. His foils are not only his well-regarded fiddle work, but banjo, guitar and his distinctly resonant vocals. From tiny folk taverns in the British Isles to huge festival stages to his ongoing workshops at the renowned Berklee College of Music, Molsky seduces audiences with a combination of rhythmic and melodic virtuosity and relaxed conversational wit – a uniquely humanistic, down home approach that can make Carnegie Hall feel like a front porch or parlor jam session.

What to expect:

1) Bring your own blanket or chair to sit on.
2) Please purchase your tickets online ahead of time if possible. Space is limited!
3) RAIN CANCELS. Tickets will be refunded.

Facebook Event
Bruce Molsky Website
YouTube

Time Zone Information

Sunday, August 22, 2021, 2:00 PM Pacific time
Sunday, August 22, 2021, 3:00 PM Mountain time
Sunday, August 22, 2021, 4:00 PM Central time
Sunday, August 22, 2021, 5:00 PM Eastern time
Sunday, August 22, 2021, 10:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location Dewey Hall
91 Main Street
Sheffield
MA
01257
United States
     
Back to Top