View by Month

English Country Dance with Jonny & Vicki and David Macemon (an Atlanta DistDance event)
Monday, Aug. 9, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:15 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus (dmarcus123@gmail.com)

Delta got you down? Come hang out virtually, Monday 8/9, at the Atlanta English Country DistDance. The great (and I don't use this word a lot) duo of Jonny Dyer and Vicki Swan will give us an evening of kick-ass music, a perfect complement to the golden voice and easy teaching of Portland master caller David Macemon. All calling will be gender-free and all dances will be delta-free - that we can promise pretty safely. Come to dance, to listen, to hang, or just 'cause you have nothing else fun to do! We don't care why you come—we're just happy to have you.

Social time: 7:00-9++ pm US Eastern time
NOTE: NO TAI CHI TONIGHT!
Music for listening and dancing: 7:30-9:00ish
After-party social starts at 9:00
Caller: David Macemon
Band: Vicki Swan & Jonny Dyer
Event Link
Donations:
PayPal

Socialize, enjoy listening to good music, chatting with friends, and dance if it moves you. Stay with us after the dance as we go around the circle and share the highlight of our week!

Our all-ECD program (plus a pair of waltzes) is selected to be easy and satisfying for one or two people.

Callers, bands, and our sound tech are not paid—they rely on your generous tips. Please use the link above to donate as you can.

David Macemon has been on staff for dance weeks and weekends around the country including Pinewoods, Buffalo Gap, Mendocino, Hey Days, and Berea Christmas Country Dance School. More decades ago than he would like to admit, David was invited to help start a high school-based performing group in Versailles that demonstrated English Country Dance, Contra, Morris and Sword dancing--and he has been dancing and teaching ever since. David is known for his patient and clear teaching style and communicates the joy of dancing through his teaching and enthusiasm. He is a regular caller for the weekly Portland Country Dance Community's English dance, monthly advanced dance series, and teaches dance English, Contra, Morris and Sword at the Renaissance School or Arts and Sciences in Portland Oregon.

Award-winning multi-instrumentalist Vicki Swan (limiting herself to nyckelharpa and flute for this evening) and competition-winning guitarist Jonny Dyer (piano and accordion) are well known on the British ECD scene. They have played many of the larger UK festivals, dance weekends and smaller events around the country.

The duo has released about 7 CDs and, as two-thirds of "Purcell’s Polyphonic Party," released an incredible ECD album - An Invitation to Dance - in 2017. Equally at home in contra the pair are known both for their drive and sensitivity to any tune they play. Danceability is core for them.

Once known mainly for for their instrumental skills with Scottish smallpipes, accordion and Swedish nyckelharpa, they are also impressive songwriters and arrangers.

Doors open at 7:00 Eastern for socializing and Zoom tips for those who would like it and social time for those who’ve done it before. Dancing starts at 7:30 with the last waltz at about 9:00, and the hall will remain open for visiting, games, and farewells.

Please share with your friends near and far! If they are novices, invite them for the 7:10 intro session. Hope to see you there!

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Seth Tepfer, Kimbi Hagen, Cis Hinkle, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus. They are not sponsored by the Chattahoochee Contra Dancers or ECD Atlanta. Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling.

Time Zone Information

Monday, August 9, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Monday, August 9, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Monday, August 9, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Monday, August 9, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Tuesday, August 10, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top