View by Month

TapRoot Sessions: Golden Shoals
Friday, Aug. 27, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern -  8:00 PM Eastern
Contact taprootsessions@gmail.com, 413-429-1176

Please bring a chair or blanket. In the event of rain, the concert will move inside with distanced seating. Masks will be required inside. For the most up to date event protocols, please visit the Dewey Hall website

Tickets: $10 in advance, additional donations welcomed. Enjoy 10% off pizza at Roberto's Pizza the day of the concert (show your ticket). Picnicking welcome.

About the Band:

What started as casual jam sessions at their house in Boston, Massachusetts would become Golden Shoals (formerly "Hoot and Holler"). Initially brought together by a mutual love of American folk music, it was hard to know that in seven years that love would bring them to Canada, Australia, the United Kingdom, and Germany, not to mention 33 of the 50 states. Amy Alvey (fiddle, guitar) and Mark Kilianski (guitar, banjo) graduated from Berklee College of Music, where both were first exposed to playing traditional old time and bluegrass music. Boston, with its burgeoning roots music scene, was a perfect place for the duo to find their sound, but rising rent costs proved difficult to sustain. In 2016 they broke their leases and began touring nationally while living in their camper van "Irene."

The idea was to see the country in the only way they knew how: entertain and connect with audiences with their music, while finding the next city to lay roots. They now call Asheville, North Carolina their home, but more often than not they are still on the road. Ever inspired by the enduring spirit of traditional Appalachian mountain music, their songwriting comes across as simple, honest, and fresh to the ears. The listener can expect the polished technique of conservatory training, in tandem with the grit, drive, and soul of musicians like Roscoe Holcomb or Ola Belle Reed.

Golden Shoals has shared a bill with the notable acts: Ricky Skaggs, Michael Daves, Red Tail Ring, The Revelers, The Brother Brothers, The Steel Wheels, Charlie Parr, The Price Sisters, Tatiana Hargreaves, The Tillers, Twisted Pine, and Lula Wiles.

“Golden Shoals bridge the sometimes distant worlds of traditional bluegrass and old time music together. With one foot steeped in tradition and the other focused on fresh songwriting, Golden Shoals are helping to further the narrative of American Roots music and introducing the traditions of our past to a whole new generation of listeners.” - Kris Truelsen, WBCM Radio Bristol

Thanks to:

TapRoot Sessions concerts are supported by Local Cultural Council Grants from the towns of Sheffield, Alford-Egremont, Great Barrington, Richmond, Monterey, Sandisfield, New Marlborough, Mt Washington.

Time Zone Information

Friday, August 27, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Friday, August 27, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Friday, August 27, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Friday, August 27, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Saturday, August 28, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location Dewey Hall
91 Main Street
Sheffield
MA
01257
United States
     
Back to Top