View by Month

Contra & English with Christa Torrens and Tea & Whiskey (an Atlanta DistDance Event)
Friday, Aug. 20, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:15 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus (dmarcus123@gmail.com)

Enjoy a half-contra and half-English Country Dance program, some free waltzes and a tai chi warmup led by Cis Hinkle, all at Atlanta's Friday DistDance. After-party at 9.

When: Friday, August 20
Social time: 7:00-9:15pm US Eastern time
Tai chi warm-up with Cis Hinkle: 7:10-7:30
Music for listening and dancing: 7:30-9:00ish
Caller: Christa Torrens
Band: Tea & Whiskey
Link
Donations: TBD

If you haven't tried a virtual dance, give it a go. Like live dances, our dances are social events as much as anything—the chance to connect with other dancers, to be part of a community, to remind ourselves of life pre-isolation and look forward to post-isolation. Some people use it like a radio hour and listen while washing dishes or cleaning house. Many don't dance but many do, so enjoy dancing if you are moved, or just enjoy chatting with your friends or listening to good music.

Callers and bands are not paid—they rely on your generous tips. Please donate to their tip jar [above] as you can.

Christa Torrens is one of the most upbeat callers we know. Dancers value her for clear, concise teaching and short walkthroughs. She has delighted dancers across the US with her smooth voice and welcoming manner. An avid dancer, she loves to get people of all experience levels moving, grooving and having fun.

Tea & Whiskey is a folk duo from Charleston, SC. Karin McQuade sings and plays fiddle with her husband Andrae Raffield on guitar and fiddle. They met through contra dance and fell in love playing music together! We think you'll hear their love for music, for dance, and for each other this Friday evening.

We encourage you to stay with us after the dance as we go around the circle and share the highlight of our week and, in some weeks, engage in a game or two.

Our programs are selected to be easy and satisfying with one or two people. You're also welcome to just listen and hang out with us. If you'd like to warm up with 20 minutes of tai chi, arrive at 7:10 for a session with Cis Hinkle.

Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling.

Please share with your friends near and far! Hope to see you Friday!

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Seth Tepfer, Cis Hinkle, Kimbi Hagen, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus in the great state of Georgia but are not sponsored by the Chattahoochee Contra Dancers or ECD Atlanta.

Time Zone Information

Friday, August 20, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Friday, August 20, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Friday, August 20, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Friday, August 20, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Saturday, August 21, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top