View by Month

TapRoot Sessions Special Concert: Dirk Powell and Rainy Eyes, Cajun Duo
Thursday, Sep. 2, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern -  8:30 PM Eastern
Contact taprootsessions@gmail.com

Contact: taprootsessions@gmail.com, 413 429 1176

Please bring a chair or blanket. In the event of rain, the concert will move inside with distanced seating. Masks will be required inside. For the most up to date event protocols, please visit the Dewey Hall website.

Tickets: $25 in advance. $30 week prior. Enjoy 10% off pizza at Roberto's Pizza the day of the concert (show your ticket). Picnicking welcome. 

About the Band:

Dirk Powell and Rainy Eyes play original and traditional music rooted in the bayous of their Louisiana home, but with a reach and emotion that encompasses the best of what defines Americana today. Dirk is known as a champion of rural roots genres, but his vision and musicality have found him playing with the likes of Joan Baez, Eric Clapton, and Jack White, among others, while his records have been influential around the world. Rainy, originally from Norway, has a unique and powerful perspective on American sounds, and sings with an unabashed soulfulness that the great Don Was says causes her voice to "leap out of the speakers!" She's written and recorded with Peter Rowan and many others. Together, they sing tight deeply-felt harmonies, rock traditional Appalachian and Cajun tunes, and get expressive on issues of social justice and other matters central to living a fulfilled and connected life in the current moment.

Dirk Powell is known for his work on the soundtrack for "Cold Mountain", a singer on one cut and playing the banjo on six tracks. In addition to acclaimed releases on Rounder Records, he’s recorded and performed with artists such as Loretta Lynn (playing several instruments on her Grammy-winning release Van Lear Rose), Sting, Jack White, Levon Helm, Jewel, T-Bone Burnett, Ralph Stanley, and Linda Ronstadt. His ability to unite the essence of his culture with modern sensibilities has led to work with many of today’s greatest film directors, including Anthony Minghella, Spike Lee, Ang Lee, Victor Nuñez, Steve James, and Edward Burns. His live performances of powerful Appalachian music with The Dirk Powell Band have inspired audiences across the globe in a wide variety of venues, including such prestigious settings as the Eastman School of Music and Interlochen Academy. Dirk also selected and arranged traditional Appalachian material for Riverdance: The Show, in which he also performed on fiddle.

YouTube video

Thanks to:

TapRoot Sessions concerts are supported by Local Cultural Council Grants from the towns of Sheffield, Alford-Egremont, Great Barrington, Richmond, Monterey, Sandisfield, New Marlborough, Mt Washington.

Time Zone Information

Thursday, September 2, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Thursday, September 2, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Thursday, September 2, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Thursday, September 2, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Friday, September 3, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location Dewey Hall
91 Main Street
Sheffield
MA
01257
United States
     
Back to Top