View by Month

Peter Knight's Gigspanner
Monday, Sep. 6, 2021,  3:00 PM Eastern -  5:00 PM Eastern

In the wake of his departure from Steeleye Span, legendary fiddle player Peter Knight has turned his full attention to his trio Gigspanner, and in the process established their reputation as one of the most genuinely ground-breaking forces on the British folk scene.

Described by Folk Radio UK as one of the “most quietly brilliant sets of musicians in the folk world and beyond”, they take self-penned material along with music rooted in the British Isles and beyond, and with the flick of a bow, a finely chosen chord or slip of a beat, produce richly atmospheric arrangements “with notes seemingly plucked from the stars and rhythms from the equator” (Spiral Earth).

As expected, British traditional music forms the bedrock of the trio’s repertoire, but the approach is what sets it apart, leaving enough room with the arrangements to spread and stretch the music in the moment.

April 2021 saw the release of a carefully curated retrospective CD, ‘From Poets to Wives’ released by Talking Elephant Records. Mapping the band’s development from 2009 to 2019, it will form the basis of this concert for Live To Your Living Room.

This event will be held live on Zoom, with a remote sound engineer for high-quality sound. Our gigs allow interaction between artists and audiences, so the artist can hear you applaud and you can even have the chance to ask them any burning questions.

Tickets are £15, with the option to pay a bit less (£10) or a bit more (£25) depending on your circumstances.

Time Zone Information

Monday, September 6, 2021, 12:00 PM Pacific time
Monday, September 6, 2021, 1:00 PM Mountain time
Monday, September 6, 2021, 2:00 PM Central time
Monday, September 6, 2021, 3:00 PM Eastern time
Monday, September 6, 2021, 8:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top