View by Month

Fay Hield Band
Wednesday, Sep. 8, 2021,  3:00 PM Eastern -  5:00 PM Eastern

Born and raised in Yorkshire, folk artist and academic Fay Hield seemed destined to carve a career in traditional folk music. She is a singer who seems to have been born knowing how to carry a tune, but with the rarer gift of knowing how to go straight to the heart of a song.

Following the 2018-19 Modern Fairies research project, Fay released her latest album Wrackline. Exploring ideas of the space between, Wrackline looks to ghosts, fairies, spirits and talking animals to understand what it is about the unknown that entrances us. Working with traditional materials, and developing them with new compositions, Fay explores the feelings they evoke and how they relate to her experience in the contemporary world. Fay breathes life and meaning into old stories, presenting them with a fresh twist. Expect to be enveloped in music, woven through magical stories and teased into thinking about your relationship with the world around you.

For this online gig, Fay will be joined by long-standing musical collaborators Sam Sweeney (fiddle), Rob Harbron (concertina, guitar and harmonium) and Ben Nicholls (double bass).

This event will be held live on Zoom, with a remote sound engineer for high-quality sound. Our gigs allow interaction between artists and audiences, so the artist can hear you applaud and you can even have the chance to ask them any burning questions.

Tickets are £15, with the option to pay a bit less (£10) or a bit more (£25) depending on your circumstances.

Time Zone Information

Wednesday, September 8, 2021, 12:00 PM Pacific time
Wednesday, September 8, 2021, 1:00 PM Mountain time
Wednesday, September 8, 2021, 2:00 PM Central time
Wednesday, September 8, 2021, 3:00 PM Eastern time
Wednesday, September 8, 2021, 8:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top