View by Month

Gadarene
Friday, Sep. 17, 2021,  3:00 PM Eastern -  5:00 PM Eastern

Gadarene take old English tunes, add their own sprinkling of ideas, modern dance grooves and music production to revitalise and energise these stunning tunes into something new. They create a sophisticated and exciting performance, drawing on many diverse musical influences, yet making a sound that is all their own.

The band’s mission is to take little-known dance tunes of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries and get audiences dancing to them again. These amazing tunes tie together arrangements drawing on Pop, Rock, Funk, Reggae, Electronica and Club Trance. This leads to a sound which is sophisticated enough for seated audiences and wild enough for audiences who want to dance.

Gadarene’s first studio album ´Butchers of Bristol´ was launched in March 2021, and the title track embodies the band’s innovative attitude to folk. Butchers of Bristol is an old country dance tune found in The William Irwin Manuscript dating from 1838, and it, like all the tunes on the album, ends up taking surprising twists and turns through the band’s trademark combination of instrumental virtuosity, creative ingenuity and effects units applied in unexpected ways.

“captures the imagination and gets feet moving. A triumphant live collection.” (The Musicians’ Union)

“Musicians sparking off each other in no small order” (fRoots)

“Blew the feckin doors off!” (The Fire Stage, Purbeck Valley Folk Festival).

Nick Wyke – Fiddle
Matt Norman – Mandolin
Jon Dyer – Flute
Laurel Swift – Double Bass / Clogs
Si Paull – Drums

This event will be held live on Zoom, with a remote sound engineer for high-quality sound. Our gigs allow interaction between artists and audiences, so the artist can hear you applaud and you can even have the chance to ask them any burning questions.

Tickets are £15, with the option to pay a bit less (£10) or a bit more (£25) depending on your circumstances.

Time Zone Information

Friday, September 17, 2021, 12:00 PM Pacific time
Friday, September 17, 2021, 1:00 PM Mountain time
Friday, September 17, 2021, 2:00 PM Central time
Friday, September 17, 2021, 3:00 PM Eastern time
Friday, September 17, 2021, 8:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top