View by Month

Saturday Evening Waltz Party with KGB!
Saturday, Sep. 18, 2021, 10:00 PM Eastern - 11:00 PM Eastern
Contact craig@nbcds.org for the on-line link

Seattle's KGB—Julie King, Claude Ginsburg, and Dave Bartley—is an iconic West Coast band which has been thrilling dancers for over 25 years. With fiddle, mandolin, guitar and piano, KGB creates subversive music, lulling the unwary with traditional New England contradance tunes, then jumping off into Balkan modalities, tango riffs and bluesy jigs. Claude slides from growling grooves to impossible high notes on the fiddle. Dave creates percussive energy and dazzling riffs on anything with strings. Julie explores the emotional range of the keyboard from majestic to down and dirty.

Claude Ginsburg's violin melts, swings, growls, soars. He infuses KGB's music with passion, rhythm, hitting notes high on the fingerboard with power and sweetness. Claude deftly inserts elements of Klezmer, Latin American, jazz fusion and French Romantic music into New England fiddle tunes, while years of contradance playing keeps his music connected to the dancers.

Dave Bartley strikes sparks with his wicked mandolin, driving guitar and lush cittern. He glides from melody to harmony to rhythm to counterpoint, throwing in rock riffs, cross-rhythms, classical motifs and Eastern tonalities. 

From beater pianos to concert grands, Julie King fully exploits the percussive range of seven octaves. Her piano style is driving, richly chordal, providing KGB's music with emotional tension.

Check out KGB's story and their wonderful music at https://www.kgbmole.com/kgb/index.html 

A personal note from Craig—My daughter and son-in-law were married 10 years ago and we played waltzes from my favorite waltz album—KGB's The Red Light of Evening—at their wedding reception. The father-daughter waltz was danced to either Flathead Lake or Alpenglow. 

Sound by Alan Roberts/ Hosted by Craig Meltzner, North Bay Country Dance Society 

E-mail craig@nbcds.org for the on-line concert link. 

Tip Jar:
PayPal
Venmo: @David-Bartley-26
Zelle: mdcm@marydave.net
mailing address for checks by request

Time Zone Information

Saturday, September 18, 2021, 7:00 PM Pacific time
Saturday, September 18, 2021, 8:00 PM Mountain time
Saturday, September 18, 2021, 9:00 PM Central time
Saturday, September 18, 2021, 10:00 PM Eastern time
Sunday, September 19, 2021, 3:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top