View by Month

Contra and ECD with Gaye Fifer & Reelplay (an All Hands In Event)
Saturday, Dec. 4, 2021,  7:30 PM Eastern -  9:30 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus (dmarcus123@gmail.com)

Social time: 7:30-9:30++ pm US Eastern time
Tai chi warmup with Cis Hinkle: 7:40-8:00
Music for listening and dancing: 8:00-9:30ish
After-party social starts at 9:30
Caller: Gaye Fifer
Band: Reelplay
Link
Donations

Socialize, enjoy listening to good music, chatting with friends, and dance if it moves you!

Our programs of 4-5 contras and 4-5 English country dances (plus a pair of waltzes) are selected to be easy and satisfying for one or two people.

Callers, bands, and our sound tech are not paid—they rely on your generous tips. Please use the link above to donate as you can.

Gaye Fifer is a passionate and greatly loved dance caller from Pittsburgh, PA. Gaye's passion is making each and every dance satisfying for dancers. Engaging and easygoing, Gaye calls contra and English dances throughout the U.S. and Canada. An easy smile and delightful sense of humor are part of Gaye's relaxed, pleasant style at the microphone. Gaye is currently President of the Board of CDSS.

Reelplay, an Atlanta dance band with both England and New England in their hearts, features Dave Marcus, concertina, and Robbin L Marcus on piano (and a bit of percussion). They enjoy an eclectic mix of tunes including New England, Quebecois, bal folk, ECD, and many originals. Playing in bands such as Over the Moon, 'Round Robbin, Renewable Energy and Holy Coyote, these musicians have lifted dancers’ feet and spirits for several decades.

Dancers say: "The live music that Reelplay offers is a real treat ... Such a pleasure to dance to! ... Your music is amazing. You definitely have a unique and danceable sound." And, "Ah…. Gorgeous! ….the lyricism, the lifts in the piano….peaceful and lovely." - Daron Douglas. Listen to Reelplay here.

Doors open at 7:30 Eastern for socializing and Zoom tips for those who would like it and social time for those who’ve done it before. Dancing starts at 8:00 with the last waltz at about 9:30, and the hall will remain open for visiting, games, and farewells.

Please share with your friends near and far!

Time Zone Information

Saturday, December 4, 2021, 4:30 PM Pacific time
Saturday, December 4, 2021, 5:30 PM Mountain time
Saturday, December 4, 2021, 6:30 PM Central time
Saturday, December 4, 2021, 7:30 PM Eastern time
Sunday, December 5, 2021, 12:30 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top