View by Month

Methera
Wednesday, Sep. 21, 2022,  3:00 PM Eastern -  5:00 PM Eastern

Methera is a unique ensemble: a string quartet with roots firmly planted in English traditional music. Their national tours, BBC Radio 3 broadcasts and collaborations have helped them establish a reputation as a scintillating live act, blazing a trail through the uncharted territory that lies between folk and chamber music.

Lucy Elkiss (cello), Emma Reid and Sam Sweeney (fiddles) and Miranda Rutter (viola) combine a deep knowledge of traditional music with a wide range of other influences and expertise and a deep sense of musical interaction. Newly composed pieces sit alongside timeless traditional material; their music is both sophisticated and earthy, groundbreaking and familiar, enchanting and thrilling – chamber folk at its best.

“Seriously stylish playing that’s putting the sparkle back into the tradition” – Verity Sharp, BBC Radio 3 Late Junction

“The invention and interplay throughout is breathtaking, and sets Methera beside the very best instrumental groups of the decade.” – Songlines

About the Gig

This event will be held live on Zoom, with a remote sound engineer for high-quality sound. Our gigs allow interaction between artists and audiences, so the artist can hear you applaud and you can even have the chance to ask them any burning questions.

Tickets are £16.50, with the option to pay a bit less (£10) or a bit more (£25) depending on what is affordable for you. You only need one ticket per household.

Time Zone Information

Wednesday, September 21, 2022, 12:00 PM Pacific time
Wednesday, September 21, 2022, 1:00 PM Mountain time
Wednesday, September 21, 2022, 2:00 PM Central time
Wednesday, September 21, 2022, 3:00 PM Eastern time
Wednesday, September 21, 2022, 8:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top