View by Month

Old Time Music: Dirk Powell and Rainy Eyes Workshop and Concert
Thursday, Sep. 15, 2022,  6:00 PM Eastern -  9:30 PM Eastern
Contact taprootsessions@gmail.com

Brought to you by TapRoot Sessions

Contact: taprootsessions@gmail.com, 413 429 1176

  • Workshop: 6:00pm-7:15pm
  • Concert: 8:00pm-9:15pm
  • Workshop Fee: $25
  • Concert Tickets: $20
  • Workshop + Concert: $40

Workshop Description:

Appalachian Stringband Workshop - One of the most important things about old-time Appalachian music is the way each instrument inhabits a unique role in creating a whole that is driving, flowing, and magnetically engaging - much more than the sum of its parts. This workshop will offer instruction in fiddle, banjo, guitar, mandolin, and bass (depending on the interests of the attendees).... but will be offered with a holistic approach that centers on creating the interwoven, expressive sound that draws us to the music in the first place. We will learn a tune or two and talk about how it fits not only on each individual instrument but how things gel as a whole. It helps the banjo to understand the fiddle, helps the guitar to understand the banjo, etc. It will be a unique and fun experience. By the end, we will be a band!

About the Band:

Dirk Powell and Rainy Eyes play original and traditional music with deep roots in the Kentucky mountains, the Louisiana bayous, and the fertile soil of the Americana songwriting tradition. Dirk is well-known as a champion of rural roots music, particularly the traditional fiddle and banjo sounds he learned from his grandfather, but his vision and versatility have found him playing with the likes of Joan Baez, Eric Clapton, Levon Helm, Loretta Lynn, Jack White, and many others. His original song “Waterbound” has been recorded over a hundred times, internationally, and he has collaborated on films such as “Cold Mountain” and “In the Electric Mist.” Rainy’s unique and powerful musicality has led to collaboration with greats like Peter Rowan and Ramblin’ Jack Elliott, while the legendary Don Was says her voice really “leaps out of the speakers!” Originally from western Norway, though living in the U.S. since the age of nineteen, Rainy writes direct, emotional songs and immerses herself in the thick center of rhythmic tradition. Based in Lafayette, Louisiana, the pair draw on their varied rural roots and a love of life to create music that is soulful, powerful, and unadorned.

Next Taproot Concerts:

  • October 13: Eimear & Eileen and Jackie & Rebecca (Women in Roots Irish/Celtic Music)
  • November 18: Genticorum (Quebecois)

Thanks to:

All TapRoot Sessions events are sponsored by Big Elm Brewing.

This concert is made possible by a sponsorship from The Pass. The Pass specializes in farm to label cannabis, supporting their community with high quality Berkshire-grown flower, pre-rolls, edibles, vaporizers, concentrates, and more. More information about The Pass and their products will be available at this concert.

Time Zone Information

Thursday, September 15, 2022, 3:00 PM Pacific time
Thursday, September 15, 2022, 4:00 PM Mountain time
Thursday, September 15, 2022, 5:00 PM Central time
Thursday, September 15, 2022, 6:00 PM Eastern time
Thursday, September 15, 2022, 11:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location Dewey Hall
91 Main Street
Sheffield
MA
01257
United States
     
Back to Top