View by Month

Mystic Contra Dance "The Pie Dance"
Saturday, Sep. 24, 2022,  7:30 PM Eastern - 11:00 PM Eastern
Contact Don dtheinold@yahoo.com
  • Time: Dance 7:30-11:00pm --- [NO Registration needed!]
  • Where: Groton Senior Center's Community meeting/banquet hall @ 102 Newtown Road, Groton, CT 06340.
  • Roles: Traditional - "Ladies & Gents" or "Women & Men"
  • Fall is upon us and we are excited about the upcoming 2022-2023 season and.. We have AC!
  • Caller: Elwood Donnelly. Elwood is an award-winning multi-instrumentalist, vocalist, writer, contra dance caller, tap-dancer and workshop leader. The other half of the acclaimed duo, "Atwater & Donnelly," Elwood and Aubrey have researched traditional American folk songs for 27 years, performing throughout the United States, and conveys the heritage behind the songs, showing a deep passion and understanding of folk history and its key players.
  • Live Music: EmmaLee Holmes Hicks & Michael Sokolovsky. EmmaLee (fiddle/violin) & Michael (guitar) play together frequently at contra dance events. EmmaLee is from the "Larksput" duo and Michael is from the west coast duo "Uncle Farmer". EmmaLee & Michael create exciting and driving contra dance music for all to enjoy!
  • Homemade Pie! This month we offer homemade pumpkin and custard pie slices. These delicious pies are offered at the break for $3/slice help support the band and caller.
  • COVID precautions: Things keep changing!
    We still require sign-in and contact information for notification.
    Masks are highly encouraged and recommended but not required.
  • Admission: $10 adults, $7 students. & Donations gratefully accepted!
  • Clothing & Footwear: Clothing is casual, layers are best for this invigorating exercise. Please wear non-street shoes that move easily on the floor (rubber-soled sneakers are discouraged, but some do wear them even though it makes dancing a bit harder).
  • Parking: Plenty of parking in the large parking area next to the building!
  • Website
  • Location: Google Maps
Time Zone Information

Saturday, September 24, 2022, 4:30 PM Pacific time
Saturday, September 24, 2022, 5:30 PM Mountain time
Saturday, September 24, 2022, 6:30 PM Central time
Saturday, September 24, 2022, 7:30 PM Eastern time
Sunday, September 25, 2022, 12:30 AM United Kingdom time

Location Groton Senior Center's hall (CT)
102 Newtown Road
Groton
Connecticut
06340
U.S.A.
14014774247
https://mysticdance.webs.com/
     
Back to Top