View by Week

Even Monday English with Cis Hinkle and Reelplay
Monday, Jun. 14, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:00 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus (dmarcus123@gmail.com)

Please join Cis Hinkle and Reelplay for an evening of virtual English Country Dance on Monday, June 14. The program will be selected from The Ashford Anniversary, Changeling, Dance of a Lifetime, The Duke of Kent's Waltz, An Early Frost, Gold for the Mahieus, Merrily on High, The Merry Andrew, Mr. Hamilton's Inauguration, To the Presence, and Trip to Tintagel. All are welcome.

Social time: 7:00-9++ pm US Eastern time
Tai chi warmup with Cis Hinkle: 7:10-7:30
Music for listening and dancing: 7:30-9:00ish
After-party social starts at 9:00
Caller: Cis Hinkle
Band: Reelplay
Link
Donations

Socialize, enjoy listening to good music, chatting with friends, and dance if it moves you. Stay with us after the dance as we go around the circle and share the highlight of our week!

Our all-ECD program (plus a pair of waltzes) is selected to be easy and satisfying for one or two people.

Callers, bands, and our sound tech are not paid—they rely on your generous tips. Please use the link above to donate as you can.

Cis Hinkle has delighted dancers since 1985 with her skilled teaching, welcoming manner, playful enthusiasm, and masterful selection of dances. She is in great demand at music and dance festivals all over the US, England, and Denmark. When not on the road, Cis teaches t'ai chi classes in her native Atlanta, Georgia.

Reelplay, an Atlanta dance band with both England and New England in their hearts, features Dave Marcus, concertina, and Robbin L Marcus on piano (and a bit of percussion). They enjoy an eclectic mix of tunes including New England, Quebecois, bal folk, ECD, and many originals. Playing in bands such as Over the Moon, 'Round Robbin, Renewable Energy and Holy Coyote, these musicians have lifted dancers’ feet and spirits for several decades. Dancers say: "The live music that Reelplay offers is a real treat ... Such a pleasure to dance to! ... Your music is amazing. You definitely have a unique and danceable sound." And, "Ah…. Gorgeous! ….the lyricism, the lifts in the piano….peaceful and lovely." - Daron Douglas. Listen to Reelplay here.

Doors open at 7:00 Eastern for socializing and Zoom tips for those who would like it and social time for those who’ve done it before. Dancing starts at 7:30 with the last waltz at about 9:00, and the hall will remain open for visiting, games, and farewells.

Hope to see you there!

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Seth Tepfer, Kimbi Hagen, Cis Hinkle, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus. They are not sponsored by the Chattahoochee Contra Dancers or ECD Atlanta. Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling.

Time Zone Information

Monday, June 14, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Monday, June 14, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Monday, June 14, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Monday, June 14, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Tuesday, June 15, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top